I Pledge – Happy 68th Republic Day

“Republic” is a quite a contextual word, used by every country in a way they feel comfortable.  Our Country, India 🇮🇳, it means an announcement to be a sovereign nation, abiding by a constitution, following rule of law and governed by the representatives elected by the citizen.

However, foundation stones of our nation, its unity, integrity and nationalist pride have been largely eroded, more due to petty political gains and careless (& to some extent selfish) attitude of its many citizens.  While this can be a high-pitched statement, to great extent we honestly know its more a reality.  The situation has come to such a low that few of the very ‘phrases’ which symbolized the national pride and integrity are now being openly questioned, and questioned in name of very Freedom of Speech and Expression granted by republic constitution.  This is thus a real cause of concern and a pain for many like me, who undoubtedly love the country.

On positive way forward, we as people need to work together to reinforce the nation with pride and integrity, make people realize embodiment of nation’s love within themselves as well as their next generation. Recently Supreme Court of India did gave a amazing judgement mandating the playing of National Anthem in movie halls across the country, a definite step that will integrate the individual to national identity elements, like national anthem.

On this Republic Day, I would like to ask every one reading this a simple question, how many of you know India’s National Pledge and how many times did we recite it as Indian Citizens in last one year.  Isn’t this the simplest thing one should be knowing by the heart?

This is not a quiz competition, but its just a question for introspection on one’s allegiance to their motherland. I know many of you will not be able to recite the National Pledge correctly, so I am inking this down here for you to re-collect and share it further.

Fellow countryman, this is an apt moment to re-kindle and reinforce our National Pride, Integrity and Unity by honoring our national identities elements. Jai Hind !!! 🇮🇳

India’s National Pledge:

India is my country.
All Indians are my brothers and sisters.
I love my country, and I am proud of its rich and varied heritage.
I shall always strive to be worthy of it.
I shall respect my parents, teachers and all elders and treat everyone with courtesy.
To my country and my people, I pledge my devotion.
In their well being and prosperity alone lies my happiness

National Pledge (in Local Languages) can be read from Wikipedia – Link

Interestingly I also found an amazingly great video on National Pledge – Link

and lastly.. wishing you all a Happy 68th Republic Day ! Jai Hind !!! 🇮🇳

Leave a Reply

